3D Electric Flying! Discuss all aspects of Electric 3D RC flying here!

Parkzone Visionaire

Reply
Old 02-13-2013, 09:18 PM
  #1
SPADinfluence
Thread Starter
 
SPADinfluence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edgewater , FL
Posts: 53
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Parkzone Visionaire

Are there no threads on this plane? I just put mine together and am going to fly it this weekend. Looking for input from other owners?
SPADinfluence is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 09:23 AM
  #2
Mysterious
 
Mysterious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Thunder Bay, ON, CANADA
Posts: 338
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Parkzone Visionaire

I'm saying that to you
Mysterious is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 06:17 PM
  #3
SPADinfluence
Thread Starter
 
SPADinfluence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edgewater , FL
Posts: 53
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Parkzone Visionaire

The LHS guys wanted to bind it in the store and prop struck the battery a few dozen times when he powered it up, as the battery was hanging out of the thing when they bound it to the DX6i I bought for it. I have two Tournigy lipos for it I bought last week, knowing I was gonna buy the plane, but the connectors are different. The weather here is sucky all weekend, so Monday morning I will hit up the LHS for a replacement for the original batt and an adapter for the chinesium batts. I'll prolly fly it Tuesday or Wednesday..Most likely Tues...If I can I'll get someone to video it.
SPADinfluence is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 08:44 AM
  #4
rmh
 
rmh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: , UT
Posts: 12,630
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Parkzone Visionaire

Quote:
ORIGINAL: SPADinfluence

The LHS guys wanted to bind it in the store and prop struck the battery a few dozen times when he powered it up, as the battery was hanging out of the thing when they bound it to the DX6i I bought for it. I have two Tournigy lipos for it I bought last week, knowing I was gonna buy the plane, but the connectors are different. The weather here is sucky all weekend, so Monday morning I will hit up the LHS for a replacement for the original batt and an adapter for the chinesium batts. I'll prolly fly it Tuesday or Wednesday..Most likely Tues...If I can I'll get someone to video it.
We flew ours and so did other very good Pattern and 3D fliers
In the Sport mode - very very easy to fly yet very maneuverable including inverted flat spins
accurate knife edge - avalanche (snap on loop) all easily done with no interferrrence from the AS3X-
just nice smooth flying which holds heading
Uncanny!
In th e 3D mode (flip the retract switch) the throws increase for tumblebug flying
Set up using instructions and get elevator trim pretty close - that's it
We used 2200ma 30 C batts -and also used a APC 12x6 prop-on a EFlite std prop adapter .
This is the BEST ARF I have ever flown - that spans many years of aerobatic ARFS
not the lightest or prettiest but the BEST flying.
rmh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 08:07 AM
  #5
John_C
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Olive Branch, MS
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Parkzone Visionaire

I've been flying for years and this is hands down the best ARF I've ever had! It is so stable and literally goes where you point it with very little correction needed. I passed the radio around without and concern at the field. The setup was quick and easy on DX8 and I was so impressed I picked up an AR635 for a little Ultra Stick I have. The AR635 was a pain on the initial setup but this AS3X really works! My Ultra Stick never flew so good!
John_C is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 06:15 AM
  #6
phillipmorris
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Sterling, IL
Posts: 368
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Parkzone Visionaire

It does have this locked in positions during flight, slightest Harrier on landings as still new to 3D. So windy lately yet to practice, do have a short clip, lousy pilot, but super plane, it's a honey!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dc4La...e_gdata_player
phillipmorris is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 07:58 PM
  #7
xanadu_vector
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Vista, CA
Posts: 161
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Parkzone Visionaire

I have about 10 flights on mine. The AS3X makes it feel like a large $1000 airplane instead of a foamy.

http://youtu.be/yudnAJaQPns
xanadu_vector is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 02:20 PM
  #8
geeter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: newtowne sq., PA
Posts: 669
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Parkzone Visionaire

yes i agree it feels like a bigger plane. they are well worth the 300.00 price tag IMHO. i have had four flights so far and a harrier land on every one. nice 3-d stuff to like ten inside loops in a row, also flat spins from 300 ft and host of other things. very respondsive to controls even not in 3-d mode. get battries that can take an 8-c charge or so not like the one that comes with it and a li-po charger that can charge that rate of 10-15 amps. the battries don't last long, but we were flying in a 15 mph +wind to sooooooo. i would expect 5-6 minutes max from the 2200 mah 3-s. 30-c. what a fun plane, easy to set up. have fun..............
geeter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 01:53 PM
  #9
TEBerg
 
TEBerg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 436
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Parkzone Visionaire

I just flew my VisionAire today... I'm VERY HAPPY with this plane!!!

I was flying and landing for 10 minutes on the first battery and it just got to the point of being medium-warm. I'll check how much was left in it tonight, but the ESC did not signal (pulse) that I was at the cutoff yet.

It does need about 1/4 to 1/3 throttle to keep her in the air because there is a lot of drag on the plane, but that was not a problem.

I'm going to balance the prop as suggested and then maybe even try a 12/6 APC prop for later.

This was a great day in the park/baseball field.
TEBerg is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 03:34 PM
  #10
BluMiniMe
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pendleton, IN
Posts: 19
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I gotta throw my 2 cents as well. 30 years of flying and the Visionaire is without a doubt the best flying ARF I've ever flown. No need to tweek anything, no upgrades needed, no changes at all. Best of all, no time to dial it in for my personal preferences. With every other ARF I've owned, I had to tweek and tweek, upgrade linkages, servos, motors, investing perhaps double the original cost to achieve a bird that meets my preferences and sometimes never getting there. The 12x4 included prop is great but I prefer a 13x4 if I have one available. I like slow, tumble, spin flying over drawing shapes in the sky. :-)

I was so impressed I went out and bought a CarbonZ Yak 54. Another of QQ's designs. In fact, when his 60 size Beast is released, I'll have one of those too.
BluMiniMe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 08:11 AM
  #11
SPADinfluence
Thread Starter
 
SPADinfluence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edgewater , FL
Posts: 53
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I have flown my VA until I wore out the servos in it! I LOVE mine! Tumbles and inverted flat spins like crazy!! Hovers on a dime, and gives you change back! I just switched to metal gear 13g servos and am ready to re-maiden it but it's raining today......
SPADinfluence is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 05:53 PM
  #12
Flypaper 2
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kingston, ON, CANADA
Posts: 4,922
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Had the elev. servo crap out on mine about 6 months ago and replaced it with an HXT900 and it's been working great since then.
Flypaper 2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 07:37 AM
  #13
piroflip2
 
piroflip2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: North, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 420
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Just in case anybody is still interested in buying this model beware all the hype.
It flies ok, but is not the 3D god that some here would have you believe.
Vertical is marginal at best.
The elevator movement in "sport" mode is woeful.
There is very little rudder power compared to say, the Parkmaster.
Hover performance is average.
I'm a very experienced 3D and F3A flier and sensed no "locked in" feeling at all.
And yes, my AS3X is working.
piroflip2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 09:54 AM
  #14
Flypaper 2
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kingston, ON, CANADA
Posts: 4,922
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I agree with you 100%. I took the rcvr out of it and put in an orange rcvr. Performs much better now. It flies on a rail so there's no need for the gyro system. I cranked up the throws on it and it works much better now.
Flypaper 2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:34 PM.