Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > ARF or RTF
Reload this Page >

pros and cons of 2 and 4 stroke engines ?

Notices
ARF or RTF Discuss ARF (Almost Ready to Fly) radio control airplanes here.

pros and cons of 2 and 4 stroke engines ?

Old 12-31-2004, 12:24 PM
RC-Captain

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default pros and cons of 2 and 4 stroke engines ?

I'm fairly new to flying a glow trainer. Have been flying it for almost a year now.
I'm not sure if I understand the difference between a 2 stroke or a 4 stroke engine.

All I know is 2 stroke cranks twice before refiring and 4 stroke cranks 4 times before firing.
Old 12-31-2004, 12:44 PM
tIANci

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: pros and cons of 2 and 4 stroke engines ?

RC - what you say is not really right, the 2C does not crank twice, the shaft would have turned 360 degrees for every power cycle, the 4C engine would turn 720 degrees. The 4C engine has proper combustion cycle in that the fuel so called completely burnt.

Four stroke engine:

Try this --> http://www.k-wz.de/vmotor/v_omotore.html and this --> http://www.keveney.com/otto.html

Two stroke engine:

try this --> http://www.keveney.com/twostroke.html

General difference between 2C and 4C is:

RPM - 4C is usually running at 10,500 RPM max but 2C is generally about 12,000 RPM, some can even touch 22,000 RPM.
Torque - 4C has more torque at a certain RPM than a 2C engine of the same capacity, 4C torque also comes at a lower RPM
Fuel - 4C has a lower fuel consumption
Maintenance - 4C needs more care in operating and maintenance
Tuning - both are the same in terms of ease

They are very different creatures but both have their own purpose.
Old 12-31-2004, 01:30 PM
RC-Captain

tIANci ....thanks for explaining and the links really helped me understand .

it looks as if the gears in the four stroke good easily cause problems.
Old 12-31-2004, 01:49 PM
tIANci