Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

New DLE 35

Reply
Old 07-12-2013, 03:33 AM
  #326
Zippi
 
Zippi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Evansville, IN
Posts: 4,970
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New DLE 35

Just installed the DLE 35RA on my new H9 Cirrus SR 22T. I'll be running a Beila 17X10 3 blade prop. I've heard nothing but good things about the new 35cc. Maiden in a couple weeks.

Zippi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 03:39 AM
  #327
ahicks
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Waterford, Mi/Citrus Springs, Fl
Posts: 3,457
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New DLE 35


Quote:
ORIGINAL: AA5BY


Quote:
ORIGINAL: WI53072

Guys,

I am well on my way with my DLE 35RA everything works very well idle to full throttle no hick-ups and I have several introductory flights on the plane now. However, I have a few follow up questions. I am wondering if it is preferred to remove the spring return on the throttle and allow just the servo to open and then close the throttle? And two, it seems I have no RPM change from half throttle to full throttle. Meaning full power is at half throttle and full throttle? Is this a radio adjustment? or a geometry problem with my servo arm/pushrod or is there a setting/adjustment I need to make on the engine that will broaden my throttle spectrum. I am using a early version Spektrum Dx7 which does not have any throttle curve settings. I just want to make sure that it is not an engine issue I need to address.

Thanks Guys!

Paul
To gain better linearity, there are a couple of options. One is to mechanically configure the linkage and the other is to do a transmitter work around. The mechanical method is harder to do as well as difficult to set the throttle kill switch if one is used.

The transmitter method is done by noting and adding the up & down throw percentages and while maintaining the total sum, changing the values so that the low throttle percentage is about half of what the upper is. The reason it works is that below half stick controls the low percentage and above half stick the high. That means with the low set half the value as the up, the lower half of stick travel controls much less of the servo travel and thereby increases the servo resolution for the lower half, whereby the upper half of the stick controls twice as much servo travel than the low and has less resolution.

The effect is better linearity with more ease to adjust the idle and more ease to jockey the throttle for the correct power when landing.
Re: the mechanical setup (bold)
The problem with the often used illustration has been brought up a few times. It makes it's point well, but can be misleading? The servo arm position marked idle in the diagram used to illustrate the mechanical setup, needs to be moved one notch clockwise to provide you with the ability to control the idle and/or kill the engine easily. If you proceed from there the mechanical advantage providing linear throttle response still works fine.



Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Rp44681.jpg
Views:	75
Size:	52.8 KB
ID:	1899783  
ahicks is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 05:54 AM
  #328
MTK
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Whippany, NJ
Posts: 5,386
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New DLE 35

Just purchased a VVRC engine and have to say I like the way they configure the throttle arm on their engines. It has built in mechanical exponential.

From idle to about half throttle, butterflyrotation is much greater which is needed. But from half throttle to full, the servo would move the typical amount but the throttle butterfly doesn't do much. A nice touch particularly for those that don't have access to throttle curves.

Point being, you might just purchase a carb from them if necessary
MTK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 07:35 AM
  #329
ahicks
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Waterford, Mi/Citrus Springs, Fl
Posts: 3,457
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New DLE 35

Matt, how they do that, could that be seen in a pic? -Al
ahicks is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 12:06 PM
  #330
MTK
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Whippany, NJ
Posts: 5,386
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New DLE 35


Quote:
ORIGINAL: ahicks

Matt, how they do that, could that be seen in a pic? -Al
Al,

I'll try to post a couple snaps tonight... they essentially start the throttle arm straight up and down. As the arm is pushed foreward to open throttle, the clevis hole moves in a circular motion in exagerated mode, slowing down fairly quickly beyond half throttle or so. I haven't started the engine yet so how it works in practice will have to wait
MTK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 02:19 PM
  #331
AA5BY
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: White Oak, TX
Posts: 2,265
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New DLE 35


Quote:
ORIGINAL: MTK

Just purchased a VVRC engine and have to say I like the way they configure the throttle arm on their engines. It has built in mechanical exponential.

From idle to about half throttle, butterfly rotation is much greater which is needed. But from half throttle to full, the servo would move the typical amount but the throttle butterfly doesn't do much. A nice touch particularly for those that don't have access to throttle curves.

Point being, you might just purchase a carb from them if necessary
Sounds backwards from what would be desirable.
AA5BY is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 02:30 PM
  #332
AA5BY
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: White Oak, TX
Posts: 2,265
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New DLE 35

Hi Karol, the work around I suggested basically does the same thing as expo, which it seems you have and are using. My suggestion was for Tx units that don't have throttle expo.
AA5BY is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 02:45 PM
  #333
AA5BY
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: White Oak, TX
Posts: 2,265
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New DLE 35


Quote:
ORIGINAL: WI53072

AA5BY,

Thanks for the suggestion. However, due to the geometry of my set up my low end % (idle) is much higher 131% compared to the top end full throttle being set at 60%. So my total range % equates to 191%. So if I am following your suggestion based on my set up, my idle should be twice as high as my full throttle setting?

Paul
What you describe as current settings would exasperate the linearity problem. To get relief the upper travel percentage should be around double the lower and yours is the other way around. Simply exchange the two percentages and see how that goes.
AA5BY is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 06:17 PM
  #334
WI53072
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Pewaukee, WI
Posts: 359
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New DLE 35

AA

I broke down and cheated. I picked up a Spektrum Dx8! Now I can several other things besides having throttle curve ability. I can not believe how much easier the menu navigation is.

Paul
WI53072 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 11:02 PM
  #335
Brettis1
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: , NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 13
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New DLE 35

i take it that everyone doubles up with the muffler washers/spring washers as per diagram
Brettis1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 01:57 AM
  #336
TimBle
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cape Town, SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 2,744
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New DLE 35


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Brettis1

In the plastic bag containing the muffler there was a diagram of the screws and washer configuration. Apart form the translation saying they were gaskets the picture shows a doubling of them e.g. one flat washer then one spring washer followed by another flat and spring washer. This seems very odd. Ive never come across this before.

It is the best way to ensure the bolts stay secure.

TimBle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 02:25 AM
  #337
TimBle
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cape Town, SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 2,744
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New DLE 35


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Brettis1

i take it that everyone doubles up with the muffler washers/spring washers as per diagram

On every 2 stroke petrol I own. Never used RTv or any other kind of "gasket maker". I use the supplied gaskets and simply double up the spring washer and flat washer as per the DLE diagram. Been doing this for three years. Never had a muffler come loose

TimBle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 06:26 AM
  #338
AA5BY
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: White Oak, TX
Posts: 2,265
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New DLE 35


Quote:
ORIGINAL: WI53072

AA

I broke down and cheated. I picked up a Spektrum Dx8! Now I can several other things besides having throttle curve ability. I can not believe how much easier the menu navigation is.

Paul
As always, newer radios do offer some nice features. I upgraded transmitter last winter and have enjoyed additional features like the extra trims that work in conjunction with the wider practice of dual elevator and aileron servos and allow trimming dual elevators to remove an unwanted roll component and ailerons up or down to neutralize the elevators.

What used to take dozens of flights and adjustments can now be done in one flight.
AA5BY is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 09:02 AM
  #339
Brettis1
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: , NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 13
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New DLE 35

Well I have run a few tanks through it on the trst stand and so far its purring at an idle and squeals like a cut cat when the throttle is tweaked.
I'm running castrol active 2T at 32:1 with 91 octane.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Qn38625.jpg
Views:	75
Size:	89.0 KB
ID:	1900722   Click image for larger version

Name:	Mk25459.jpg
Views:	66
Size:	82.6 KB
ID:	1900723  
Brettis1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 10:19 AM
  #340
Lifer
 
Lifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 3,866
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New DLE 35

I have mine installed in a H-9 Hellcat. It is turning a MA16x8x3. It replaced an RCGF 15cc. What a difference!
Lifer is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 12:47 PM
  #341
Joystick TX
 
Joystick TX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: N. Richland Hills, TX
Posts: 1,246
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New DLE 35

I purchased my engine on May 13, 2013. I had an ignition module failure after 1-1/2 gallons of fuel. It had spark, but the advance curve was way off normal. Have been runningan RCEXL A-01 module since then.The DLE repair service says anew DLE A-02module will not be available until the end of this month. That is also what they told me last month, so time will tell.


I am running the engine on a 13-1/2 lb Giant Super Sportster ARF,using Stihl Ultra HP oil at 30:1, with a 19x10 Xoar prop and getting good idle at 1,700 with 6700 to 6800 rpm at WOT. Turned the DLE plug into a piston stop, works great for that purpose.



Engine starts great, usually one flip after warm-up.

Attached Files
File Type: pdf
Wu61824.pdf (132.1 KB, 48 views)
Joystick TX is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 03:36 PM
  #342
rcguy59
 
rcguy59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: tacoma, WA
Posts: 1,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New DLE 35

I always thought the DLE plugs would do a fair job of keeping crud out of the cylinder, but that's about all.
rcguy59 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 12:06 PM
  #343
Zippi
 
Zippi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Evansville, IN
Posts: 4,970
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New DLE 35

Just tried to start my DLE 35RA. It will pop but will not start. It's getting fuel and just to be on the safe side I put fuel in the carb with a tube. Still nothing but a pop when I choke it and It try's to start but just runs for a second. Plug cap is all the way on and both needles Are at 1 1/4 open. I put a new plug in after it wouldn't start. Any ideas?
Zippi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 12:27 PM
  #344
Lifer
 
Lifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 3,866
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New DLE 35

Open the needles about 2 turns and see what happens.
Lifer is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 12:50 PM
  #345
Zippi
 
Zippi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Evansville, IN
Posts: 4,970
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New DLE 35


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Lifer

Open the needles about 2 turns and see what happens.
I was trying to start it again before you posted and now it won't even pop.
Zippi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 12:53 PM
  #346
Zippi
 
Zippi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Evansville, IN
Posts: 4,970
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New DLE 35

I pulled the line off the carb and ran a line straight out of my gas can so I could rule out any issues with the fuel system. The diaphram in the cab is working because I can rock the prop and get fuel to the carb.
Zippi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 01:05 PM
  #347
ahicks
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Waterford, Mi/Citrus Springs, Fl
Posts: 3,457
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New DLE 35

It sounds flooded. Time to pull that plug and see if it's wet.
ahicks is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 02:03 PM
  #348
Zippi
 
Zippi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Evansville, IN
Posts: 4,970
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New DLE 35


Quote:
ORIGINAL: ahicks

It sounds flooded. Time to pull that plug and see if it's wet.
Your probably right, it may be flooded. Still have the issue as to why it wouldn't start from the get go.
Zippi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 04:17 PM
  #349
ahicks
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Waterford, Mi/Citrus Springs, Fl
Posts: 3,457
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New DLE 35

As used to handling and the care and feeding of my planes that are flown regularly, that happens to me on occasion? I generally pull the choke on, flip till it pops, open the choke, flip it a few more times and it starts. On occasion though, I never get that first pop. After flipping with the choke on for a while, it's almost certain it's flooded. That's about the time I see fuel dripping from the exhaust too - and I know it's happened again! Doesn't happen often, but it does happen. Even when I remember to turn the kill switch on the receiver to the on position!

It's why I carry an extra plug and the tools required to change it with me. -Al
ahicks is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 04:51 PM
  #350
Indiomike
 
Indiomike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Indio, CA
Posts: 376
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New DLE 35

If you have your engine mounted inverted (plug at the very bottom) and the plug was wet when you inspected it, most likely it was a flooded condition. You said you changed the plug but did not say what the plug was. Use a NGK CM6 or the Honda equivalent and NOT a DLE plug. Check gap to be about .022 (anywhere from .018 to .024 should work).

One other thing to look at is the reed block and reeds. Inspect to verify they sit flat on the block. Reeds that don't seal well can make an engine hard to start or run.

Mike
Indiomike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:05 AM.