Community
Search
Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

new to gliding

Search this Thread

Old 06-15-2013, 02:48 PM
ktmfrank

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default new to gliding

Hi everybody.i'm a rc airplane pilot and i bought myself a parkzone Radian Pro.Can someone suggest a website or any means to know the basics of gliding?i'm a bit confused about wheather condition like wind persay does it fly better if its a windy day and how fast per example?thank in advanceFrancis
Old 07-02-2013, 06:41 PM
aeajr
My Feedback: (2)

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Default RE: new to gliding

> The New Glider Pilot's Handbook
http://www.flyesl.org/forums/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=251

Ask away. I will be happy to help a new glider pilot.
Old 07-03-2013, 04:46 PM
BMatthews

Received 22 Likes on 19 Posts

Here's a write up I did on flying to find and ride thermals some time back.

Catching thermals is about carefully watching the model for disturbances caused by the air flowing around it and reacting to them. On calm days the disturbances will be weak and can be discounted as nothing unless you're on top of your game. On blustery days the signs can be violent to the point of trying to crash the model and quick and decisive control is needed both for survival of the model and to maneuver the model to actually trap and ride the lift as it goes by. The one common point is that a trimmed model does not suddenly go out of trim for no reason. The flight path is altered by some disturbance in the air. Often those disturbances are thermals.