RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

FOD Guards

Reply
Old 12-16-2009, 03:37 AM
  #1
Dave Wilshere
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 9,775
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default FOD Guards

When the use of FOD guards started I wasn't keen as the converted sieve looked cheap on aeroplanes where you could see the turbine. With ducted installations I started using them and I'm glad.
Over the last few weeks we have received a run of turbines with compressor damage where FOD's weren't fitted. Now JetCat have a nice moulded cover that looks good and supports the motor housing there is no excuse. People like Wren with the built in FOD lead the way and I think long term all manuafctures should do the same.
On my Inspiration I couldn't get a std FOD on the turbine as the turbine is already a bit long for the ducting, so I bought a cheap sieve and cut out the centre to glue into the removable inlet section. I'm glad I did as looking in the inlets after flying last weekend on our muddy field the pix shows the mud stuck to the screen.

Dw
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Lj23342.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	39.7 KB
ID:	1335518   Click image for larger version

Name:	Kg15283.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	52.1 KB
ID:	1335519  
Dave Wilshere is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2009, 05:08 AM
  #2
Ali
 
Ali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northamptonshire , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 4,975
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FOD Guards

Good point,
We offer a free F.O.D Guard with every Turbine that we sell ( Or a UBT bubble tank), and over the past 2 years we have gone through just over 300 ( of two different size) F.O.D's So it looks like the public are also embracing the protection.
Regards Al
Ali is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2009, 05:11 AM
  #3
Dave Wilshere
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 9,775
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FOD Guards

Dave Wilshere is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2009, 05:58 AM
  #4
digitech
 
digitech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: klimmenlimburg, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 3,342
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FOD Guards

infact we do the same.
even better the Boostertypes fods seems to fit better over the jetcat one,s...
but i agree , anyone who does not get a FOD protection , hould not be pi*sed off by the bill you get for a new compressor..
digitech is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 01:12 AM
  #5
tj coleman
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kuala Lumpur , MALAYSIA
Posts: 79
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FOD Guards

What about FOD guards for the AMT range.? Anyone making/supplying them? Tom.
tj coleman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 01:32 AM
  #6
InboundLZ
 
InboundLZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,944
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FOD Guards

You fly without a FOD screen and you are just asking for trouble.
InboundLZ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 12:53 PM
  #7
pfact
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 230
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FOD Guards

When I looked for FOD screens for my Olympus I was told that larger turbines do not tolerate airflow limitations imposed by FOD screens - is there any truth to this?

Phil
pfact is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 04:47 PM
  #8
cy paul
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: HAMILTON, ON, CANADA
Posts: 126
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FOD Guards

I'm looking for one also for my Olympus.....
cy paul is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 05:44 PM
  #9
trioval00
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: wilkes barre, PA
Posts: 2,407
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FOD Guards

I have ALWAYS run FOD screens, always..... but I just got my P-120 back from having a new compressor wheel and shaft put in her........even with the screen , I picked up garbage somewhere................
trioval00 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 09:41 PM
  #10
tj coleman
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kuala Lumpur , MALAYSIA
Posts: 79
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FOD Guards

I have used home made ones on my AMT Pegasus engines and have come to the conclusion that I will need to do the same on the Olympus in my UB. Bennie doesn't make them but I have found some great cooking sieves with the right depth and strength to do the job. Tom.
tj coleman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 09:57 PM
  #11
rcjetsaok
 
rcjetsaok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,430
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FOD Guards

I would like to get on for my Mercury ( air start )... Putting it in a Tam F-16... Big low suction hole there !!! Does AMT U.S. make them????

Danno
rcjetsaok is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 03:00 AM
  #12
A343
 
A343's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hoersholm, DENMARK
Posts: 228
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FOD Guards


Quote:
ORIGINAL: pfact

When I looked for FOD screens for my Olympus I was told that larger turbines do not tolerate airflow limitations imposed by FOD screens - is there any truth to this?

Phil
Phil
I've tried a home made, rather corse mesh FOD guard on my P180 with no increase in EGT or acceleration time. i.e. it works fine. After meeting Olivier "OLNICO" who has made quite a few test with P200's, I tried a std 160 eng. FOD guard from Ali. It worked as good as my home made one. Only marginal increase in EGT with <10C.
So I'll stick with the finer mesh as it seems not to impose any significant decrease in performance.

My 2 cents
Thomas
A343 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 12:34 PM
  #13
Bob Toilet
 
Bob Toilet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oslo, NORWAY
Posts: 477
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FOD Guards

Here is how i did it in my new Eurosport full ducting and bypass. materials cost about 5 USD.

Christian
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Yw66900.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	117.6 KB
ID:	1351252  
Bob Toilet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 01:39 PM
  #14
sweetpea01
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Lebanon OH
Posts: 3,311
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FOD Guards

Anyone try ET's Fod screens here on RCU? They are reasonably priced compared to other companies.
sweetpea01 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 08:18 PM
  #15
dubd
 
dubd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 4,271
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FOD Guards

I've sent ET a PM to buy a FOD screen, but he never got back to me. I ended up ordering one from Jetcat and it arrived within 3 days.
dubd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 12:13 AM
  #16
sweetpea01
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Lebanon OH
Posts: 3,311
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FOD Guards

He's now got them on the RCU sale board. Figured he had some instock now.
sweetpea01 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:33 AM.