RC Tanks Discuss all aspects of rc tank building and driving here!

View Poll Results: A poll
Hooben T-55 RTR
8.57%
Hooben T-55 Kit
91.43%
Voters: 35. You may not vote on this poll

Hooben T-55 Purchase/Build/Help

Reply
Old 07-21-2013, 08:50 PM
  #1
dlobmwm3
Thread Starter
 
dlobmwm3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 582
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hooben T-55 Purchase/Build/Help

Should I get the RTR or the Kit to assemble. And why? Thanks for the help guys.
dlobmwm3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 12:29 AM
  #2
chris3BK
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Bochum, GERMANY
Posts: 486
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hooben T-55 Purchase Help

hi

The question is what kind of kit your are able to get, if it is a early kit i would prefer that RTR tank because your are sure that this tank do have all parts and everything fits well (because its mounted). Ich you are able to get some of the last produced t-55 i would prefer the kit, Hooben did improfe its kit very well so you shouldn t have much problems with the parts inside.

sadly i only have 1 new kit in stock :-(.
and some RTRs older versins

cu christian
chris3BK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 03:19 AM
  #3
TheBennyB
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Grove, PA
Posts: 2,851
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hooben T-55 Purchase Help

Never a fan of RTR in any hobby.   Once you check all the nuts, bolts, screws, etc,  for tightness and thread lock  you've put the kit together anyways.
TheBennyB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 05:47 AM
  #4
Buckeye36
 
Buckeye36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Egg Harbor Township, NJ
Posts: 1,837
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hooben T-55 Purchase Help

Go for the kit Danny, then you know it's built right [8D]
Buckeye36 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 08:30 AM
  #5
bowlman
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: jackson, MI
Posts: 1,853
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hooben T-55 Purchase Help

I got one of the original batch kits still setting in its box waiting to be built I know it has some over kill in flash I know the electronic mech's that come with the kit sucks but I now know what ill have to do to make it correct as I build it .
This is all part of the game of building it .Its not a Tamiya and I know it so im not going to be upset if I have to do extra work on it .
I also still have the Elefant to build to .

Jimmy
bowlman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 06:59 PM
  #6
dlobmwm3
Thread Starter
 
dlobmwm3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 582
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hooben T-55 Purchase Help

Thanks everyone for the replies. Does anyone know what size the sealed bearings I should buy?
dlobmwm3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 03:13 AM
  #7
TheBennyB
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Grove, PA
Posts: 2,851
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hooben T-55 Purchase Help

I can't find bearings as of yet. Since they are an internal single bushing to replace you need 9X5X4 non-flanged bearings. I contacted boca and they have 10x5x4 but you'd have to mill out the wheels which may remove too much surface material to then glue them together.
TheBennyB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 08:54 AM
  #8
tomhugill
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,949
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hooben T-55 Purchase Help

I've added bearings to my t-55. The bearing on the output shaft of a Tamiya tu would fit perfectly but you have to make some slight alteration due to the flange. If you could get this size without flanges then you'd be sorted!
tomhugill is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 09:12 AM
  #9
dlobmwm3
Thread Starter
 
dlobmwm3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 582
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hooben T-55 Purchase Help

Do the 9X5X4 non-flanged bearings even exist? I can't find any.
dlobmwm3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 09:21 AM
  #10
TheBennyB
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Grove, PA
Posts: 2,851
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hooben T-55 Purchase Help

That's what I meant by "can't find any of yet" Have some emails out to bearing makers/supplier's to see if anyone has any laying around. Contacted the supplier ETO used when he stocked
the wheel bearing kits, but haven't heard back.
TheBennyB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 12:08 PM
  #11
TheBennyB
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Grove, PA
Posts: 2,851
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hooben T-55 Purchase Help

Got an email back from a bearing supplier than can possibly make these bearings with a rubber seal. Waiting to hear back on price per bearing, will let you know when I do.
TheBennyB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 03:53 PM
  #12
FreakyDude
 
FreakyDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: barrie, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,047
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hooben T-55 Purchase Help

go to Boca Bearing, I am sure they can find your sealed bearing size.

Anyway I say Kit for one reason, You build it you know the tank inside and out. There are lots of things that a T-55 may need or issues that others have faced. Search a few threads and you will see what I mean. You do the work yourself your prepared for the problem areas and can work through them.
the RTR is not gauranteed to have any fixes applied, it is only stated that it is assembled.
FreakyDude is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 04:37 PM
  #13
TheBennyB
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Grove, PA
Posts: 2,851
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hooben T-55 Purchase Help


Quote:
ORIGINAL: FreakyDude

go to Boca Bearing, I am sure they can find your sealed bearing size.
Anyway I say Kit for one reason, You build it you know the tank inside and out. There are lots of things that a T-55 may need or issues that others have faced. Search a few threads and you will see what I mean. You do the work yourself your prepared for the problem areas and can work through them.
the RTR is not gauranteed to have any fixes applied, it is only stated that it is assembled.
No dice with Boca, tried them first as usual.

TheBennyB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 04:28 AM
  #14
dlobmwm3
Thread Starter
 
dlobmwm3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 582
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hooben T-55 Purchase Help

Getting close to painting but I am at a stumbling block with all the Hooben electronics with Tamiya electronics. I have never worked with servos before and am wondering how I would connect the servo to the Tamiya components. Here is a picture, servo (3 wires) to Tamiay (2 wires).

dlobmwm3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 05:08 AM
  #15
mcovalsk
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 540
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hooben T-55 Purchase Help

You can't. Servo works with a digital signal ( that's why there is 3 wires) and Tamiya just is variable voltage for the electric motor. What you can do is to modify the servo for using just the motor and gears but I think you are looking for a digital proportional working. You need Clark TK22 or other PCB that be able to manage digital signals.
mcovalsk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 05:57 AM
  #16
TheBennyB
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Grove, PA
Posts: 2,851
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hooben T-55 Purchase Help

First off, never say "can't" in a r/c hobby. Yes you can use servo's with the tamiya DMD. just use a Y harness off of the channel you using for elevation. One lead to the RX and one to the servo.
Recoil will be another story.
TheBennyB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 06:09 AM
  #17
dlobmwm3
Thread Starter
 
dlobmwm3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 582
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hooben T-55 Purchase Help

Found an article on the H.E.A.T site for [link=https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&ved=0CC8QFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fheatarmor.com%2Fjoomla%2Findex.ph p%3Foption%3Dcom_content%26task%3Dview%26id%3D92%2 6Itemid%3D29&ei=Wmr6UcKAD4_68QTwpIC4DA&usg=AFQjCNH7Wqpyjjv3T6lFr9ArX1HuklIo_A&sig2=Yjhq0WciGyiGuDzA73retw&bvm=bv.50165853,d.eWU]Tamiya electronics with servo elevation[/link]. Now the question is how would I connect the servo (3 wire) to the Tamiya (3 wire) CN6 wire. Which wire matches to what?
dlobmwm3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 06:11 AM
  #18
mcovalsk
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 540
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hooben T-55 Purchase Help

Yes you are right. However I was talking about the stuff as is as a general concept.
I have checked the Y and didn't work fine with some old receivers. But your answer is vaild and usefull.
mcovalsk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 06:30 AM
  #19
Green Amphibian
 
Green Amphibian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: King, NC
Posts: 1,544
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hooben T-55 Purchase/Build/Help

If you don't know which one to unplug, just unplug one at a time and test to see if the function works or not. It is probably ch. 2 or 3 though.

Herman
Green Amphibian is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 06:46 AM
  #20
bowlman
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: jackson, MI
Posts: 1,853
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hooben T-55 Purchase/Build/Help

I just unsolder the motor from the servo pcb board then you only need 2 wires to the motor contacts plus you will have to cut the little stop on the first gear so it can do 360 rotation or just leave it and it will do 180 rotation only directions with pics are here at this web site .

http://www.tedpavlic.com/post_servo.php

After you do this servo mod you can hook up the Tamiya elevation wires to the tamiya elevation connector you just need to find a cable connector to match or change them to a small deans plug .

Thanks
Jimmy
bowlman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 06:48 AM
  #21
dlobmwm3
Thread Starter
 
dlobmwm3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 582
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hooben T-55 Purchase/Build/Help

I've got the elevation down. It goes to Ch 3 with a Y-connector and delay. But what about the servo to CN6? How should it connect to CN6 and which colors?
dlobmwm3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 07:03 AM
  #22
Green Amphibian
 
Green Amphibian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: King, NC
Posts: 1,544
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hooben T-55 Purchase/Build/Help

On CN6, the center post is the signal post. The other two are + and -. What are you trying to connect to CN6? The elevation servo connects with the Y and slow down to the Rx. You do not need to connect it to CN6 that I am aware of for elevation to work.

Herman
Green Amphibian is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 07:19 AM
  #23
bowlman
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: jackson, MI
Posts: 1,853
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hooben T-55 Purchase/Build/Help

CN6 is the recoil connector point on a Tamiya MF unit the only way you can do a servo recoil with a Tamiya MF unit is .
1. look at the Heat Group site and see if they have the directions for using a servo for recoil .
2. you can buy a servo recoil control board from www.rctankhobby.com you wont need to change anything on the servo it comes with direction on how to wire it in witch is only 3 wires 1 for battery ( + ) 1 for battery ( - ) and 1 for trigger signal witch would be one of the 3 pins coming from CN6 connector .
3. something like the Clark TK-22 control board or the SLU unit .

Here is a pic of the recoil board from RC Tank Hobby .
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Bz78538.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	124.7 KB
ID:	1905291  
bowlman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 07:32 AM
  #24
dlobmwm3
Thread Starter
 
dlobmwm3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 582
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hooben T-55 Purchase/Build/Help

Yes Recoil. I am using James article from the H.E.A.T site for elevation and now need to figure out the recoil servo to CN6.
dlobmwm3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 07:32 AM
  #25
bowlman
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: jackson, MI
Posts: 1,853
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hooben T-55 Purchase/Build/Help

Most guy's using the Tamiya electronics in a Hooben build just replace with Tamiya recoil unit if you got one of the later models of Hooben Tank kits they come with mounts setup for servo's they are made to work with what control units Hooben are using now witch I think is the Clark Boards now. It was control board like the SLU but there was to many problems with that setup at the time it was mostly with Hooben made gear systems for the recoil and elevation .

Thanks
Jimmy
bowlman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:49 AM.