Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric Training
Safe Select Rx/Tx Channel Usage >

Safe Select Rx/Tx Channel Usage

Community
Search
Notices
Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

Safe Select Rx/Tx Channel Usage

Search this Thread

Old 04-09-2019, 04:15 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Safe Select Rx/Tx Channel Usage

Hello all! I'm just getting into RC Aircraft and have a few questions about Safe Select that I can't seem to find answers to. I have read one post on rcgroups by Prof100 that seems to imply that SAFE can be bound to a receiver as either permanently on or permanently off, in my mind meaning it does not need a switch for that option and therefore does not occupy a transmitter channel. Additionally, it also says that it can be assigned a switch to toggle between on and off mid-flight using an aux channel.

However, when looking at BNF aircraft that have an AS3X receiver with Safe Select programmed in, it seems that Safe Select ALWAYS requires at least a dedicated transmitter channel. If this is the case, does it also require a receiver channel? Which is correct?

Ultimately, can a nominally 6 channel plane with a 6 channel receiver and additional Safe Select be operated from a 6 channels transmitter, or are 7 channels required for it all?

Last edited by mhazzard; 04-09-2019 at 12:23 PM.
Old 04-09-2019, 05:14 PM

Received 77 Likes on 68 Posts

Bind and fly aircraft with SAFE are built the way the company wants them to be built. That doesn't mean they have to be built that way. But any time a transmitter channel is used a receiver channel is also used except is special mixing situations on specific transmitters. But that's another story. Just remember, if you are going to use a transmitter channel then use the receiver channel assigned to it as well.