Go Back  RCU Forums > Radios, Batteries, Clubhouse and more > Batteries & Chargers
 Making my own packs tips and tricks >

Making my own packs tips and tricks

Community
Search
Notices
Batteries & Chargers Nicads, Nickel Metal Hydride, Lithium, LiPoly, Chargers, Cyclers, etc...

Making my own packs tips and tricks

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-2006, 12:15 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Making my own packs tips and tricks

Hey guys. I have been building my own RX packs for 3 years now. I thought I would share my building process in case anybody wlse wants to try a hand at it. I have built probably 15 packs, and have NEVER had a failure.

I use NiMH exclusively, and build mostly AA 4 cell packs. I have built a C sized 5 cell pack for use on my giant scale.

1) Go to Walmart and buy the largest capacity NimH Energizer packs you can find. You can usually get 8 for $10, enough for 2 packs. The last ones I bought were 2500 ma.

2) keep the packs together in their respective boxes, ie mark each set of four so you have the same cells in the box going for the same pack.

3) Take some 200 grit sandpaper and scuff both negative and positive sides. Wipe with alcohol.

4) Layout you cells like the pack will look, and hot glue the cells together.

5) Using a rubber jawed vise, gently clamp the pack in place so you can work on one side at a time.

6) Go to the auto parts store and ask for the smallest gauge braided ground wire they have. I get 8 inches for about 2 bucks, enough for 5 or 6 packs. I soak the braid in solder, and if it is too wide, snip it in half length-wise.

7) cut the braid to fit between you cells.

8) With a qtip, dab a small amount of solder paste on each cells contact area. Tin the cells with as little amount of solder you can muster.

9) Using a solder GUN (Iron's don't get hot enough to melt the solder without heating the battery) apply heat to the braid, until it melts in with the tinning on the cell.

10) Repeat for all connections.