Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
 Too many servo choices. How do I choose? >

Too many servo choices. How do I choose?

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Too many servo choices. How do I choose?

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-2011, 08:21 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Too many servo choices. How do I choose?

I am new to RC flying. I have a Parkzone Corsair and T-28. I would like to start buying ARF's and putting my own electronics in. I know how to pick the right motor, ESC, battery etc...But I am lost when it comes to understanding how to select the correct servos.

I do not have a particular plane in mind. I am looking at planes with a wingspan of less than 5 feet. I just need to understand what I am looking for in servo selection.

also, the prices range from $3.00to over $60. Idon't want to be afraid of crashinga plane with really expensive servos, so can I get away with some less expensive servos?\

Thanks
Old 04-17-2011, 08:34 PM

Default RE: Too many servo choices. How do I choose?

I believe most manufacturers will recomend the proper servo for each plane on the manual, but you can use the standard size servos for almost any 40-60 plane in the market. any servo from $10 to $20  will do the job unless you need high torque servos that would cost arround $20 to $40.
Old 04-17-2011, 09:14 PM
My Feedback: (10)

You may check out some of the very low prices servos here and good working. I bought 4 of them. Here's the link

http://www.hobbypartz.com/standardservos.html

You may find some good stuff there.

Mody
Old 04-18-2011, 05:15 AM
My Feedback: (2)

If you're shopping for a currently available ARF, selecting the right servos is usually as easy as looking up the manual at the manufacturer's web site and reading what they recommend in the owner's manual.