Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
beginner rockets >

beginner rockets

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

beginner rockets

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2022, 03:05 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default beginner rockets

I am new to model rockets. Three weeks back I launched a rocket with an A8-0 engine and it went up and away - never came back. Hence my post - what is the smallest rocket I can launch and retrieve?
Old 08-25-2022, 04:40 PM

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

Did you have a recovery system? Parachute or streamer? The A8-0 is a multi-stage engine with no recovery charge.

1/2A3-2 is likely the smallest.

How large is the field you are launching from?
Old 08-25-2022, 06:12 PM

Yes, I had a parachute but lost it all when my rocket went away! The field size = size of a football field + baseball pitch, so fairly big but guess not big enough. Hence, want to try with the smallest rocket, so I can recover it with a parachute.
Old 08-25-2022, 06:20 PM

The engine you used burned up your parachute as it was designed to ignite the next stage in a multi-stage rocket. You need one with a delay charge to "pop" the nose off. Like an A8-3.

Three seconds into the flight it has a charge to deploy the nose.
Old 08-26-2022, 04:47 PM

Thanks. The 1/2A3-2 you mentioned - wonder which parachute to match it to? Guess the 1/2A3-2 is an Estes and the 2 is a 2 second delay.
Old 08-27-2022, 11:52 AM

Match the parachute to the weight of the rocket.

https://www.nar.org/educational-reso...es/parachutes/
Old 09-02-2022, 01:54 PM
My Feedback: (1)

Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts

Originally Posted by beatsal
Thanks. The 1/2A3-2 you mentioned - wonder which parachute to match it to? Guess the 1/2A3-2 is an Estes and the 2 is a 2 second delay.