Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
 Counter-rotating props >

Counter-rotating props

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Counter-rotating props

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-2005, 02:53 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Counter-rotating props

I am very new to this whole world, but I have recently become involved with an airplane construction group at the university i attend. We have run into a small problem though. the design we have come up with requires a counter-rotating prop with a 17 inch diameter and so far, we have not been able to find any suppliers who carry a prop like this. do any of you know where one would find such a prop? Thanks in advance for any advice you can give.
Old 10-26-2005, 06:19 AM

Default RE: Counter-rotating props

No one makes a counter rotating prop setup that I know of. I have been playing around with the idea but you are going to add a lot of weight to a model with the gearbox. You will need a right and left hand prop along with a gear box to drive the props and a motor with enough power to drive two props of the size you want. The gear box would be similar to what is drawn with a shaft right through the the box attached to the gear on input side and gear on output side drives counter rotating prop. The yellow in the drawing is bearing material and the pink is the outer case. Built one in the 80's but would only spin 10" props with a 90 size engine for power. Modern engines are more powerful but still not realy up to spec.

Cheers.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Jh16637.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	26.5 KB
ID:	344228  
Old 10-26-2005, 08:48 AM
My Feedback: (1)

Are you talking about dual props per shaft, counter rotating, or are you talking about a twin engine, with counter rotating props?
Old 10-26-2005, 12:52 PM

Look or ask in the rc helicopters forum...alot of helos use them if you are talking about inline...