Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
 Making Your Own Battery Packs >

Making Your Own Battery Packs

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Making Your Own Battery Packs

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2007, 04:02 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Making Your Own Battery Packs

Im kind of new to RC airplanes and was wondering how to make my own battery packs to save some money.Does any one know how or where to find out?
Old 05-11-2007, 04:08 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Making Your Own Battery Packs

ORIGINAL: mrlikescheese

Im kind of new to RC airplanes and was wondering how to make my own battery packs to save some money.Does any one know how or where to find out?
Yes, The electrics forum Seriously the guys over there will lead you in the right direction. I am not sure you will save money by building your own packs but I'm a greasy nitro guy, what do I know?
Old 05-11-2007, 05:17 PM
RCU Forum Manager/Admin
My Feedback: (9)

Received 27 Likes on 24 Posts

For the most part it's usually not worth the hassle to try and make your own packs to save a couple of buck. The reason is because when soldering if you get the top/bottom of the battery too hot it melts the internal seals inside the battery, and the battery is shot after that. It will become unreliable if that seal it gone. How hot is too hot? 2-3 seconds of heat can be too much. Because of that you get a real balancing act trying to get everything hot enough to make a good solder joint. So if you are careful to not get it too hot you end up with a bad solder joint, which can cause a crash from loss of power. IMHO it's better to just buy the batteries from a reputable source and know that they are built properly. A good source of information about all things concerning RC batteries is [link=http://www.rcbatteryclinic.com]www.rcbatteryclinic.com .

Hope this helps

Ken
Old 05-11-2007, 06:06 PM
My Feedback: (4)

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts