Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
2 Stroke vs. 4 Stroke >

2 Stroke vs. 4 Stroke

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

2 Stroke vs. 4 Stroke

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-2003, 04:07 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2 Stroke vs. 4 Stroke

I am new to planes, and I don't know the difference between the two or four. Is there a benefit to one or the other? Reliability?

I am an avid racer of 1/5th scale Cars, so I am familiar with rc in general, but this will be my first plane. I have decided on the ARF Corsair 46 Sport. It can fit a engine from 45 to 60 size. I was thinking of picking up an MDS .58, but wanted to know if 4 stroke is better or worth the money.
Old 04-17-2003, 05:06 PM

4 strokes have several advantages and disadvantages vs 2 strokes, here's a quick list off the top of my head in no particular order:

- 4 strokes cost more
- 4 strokes sound cool in the air, more "real plane" like
- 4 strokes can swing bigger props at lower RPMS, making them great for scale and slow flying planes
- 2 strokes can hit much higher RPMs, so if you want to go really fast, 2 strokes are the way to go.
- 2 strokes have a higher power-to-weight ratio (for the most part)
- 2 strokes produce more power at the same displacement, though that's getting more even as time goes on.
- some 4 strokes can be a bit more tempermental to run, a 4 stroke can backfire and toss a prop. while it's possible for a 2 stroke as well, it's much more common in 4 strokes
- 4 strokes are more fuel efficient. Not enough to make up for the cost of the engine in fuel savings though.
- 4 strokes have more moving parts, which means more things that can break or need mantienance.
- Depending on the engine, 4 strokes can be more prone to taking damage in a crash.

For a first airplane engine, I'd say go with a 2 stroke normally, but you do have engine running experience, so I don't think it will really matter that much for you.