Community
Search
Notices
Car Nitro & Gas Engines Discuss all aspects of Nitro and Gas rc car engines here!

Machining engines?

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2006, 01:02 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Machining engines?

Ok i have been posting alot. But i am new to nitro and i am very excited. as most of u were. My friend owns a machine shop and he siad he could copy my engine. He likes to tell lies a lil. I know he has the machine shop and all but is there away to do this. And also would i be able to make my own engines then? He siad he could make them outa titanium. Would this be a good thing. Has anyone tried this.
Old 03-05-2006, 02:17 AM

Default RE: Machining engines?

Your best bet would be to stay away from making your own engines. he may be able to copy it looks wise, but the performance would just plain suck. Nitro engines are made out of certain materials for a reason.
Old 03-05-2006, 02:28 AM
My Feedback: (1)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Tell him to make one just to prove him wrong. It may start but other than that it's just wishfull thinking.
Old 03-05-2006, 03:29 AM

So if there was a way to find out wat metal to use i could maybe do this? Or is this impossible to even get good results
Old 03-05-2006, 07:07 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I make all my engines myself.I use titanium as well and the engines are impossible to wear out. go for it and let me know how it turns out for you.
Old 03-05-2006, 07:13 AM

ORIGINAL: asmund

I make all my engines myself.I use titanium as well and the engines are impossible to wear out. go for it and let me know how it turns out for you.
Really?

I'm sure everyone here would love to see some photos of your engines.
Old 03-05-2006, 09:28 AM

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Wow, you must have one expensive mill, as precision is an essential requirement for any engine.

Ryan
Old 03-05-2006, 09:35 AM