Community
Search
Notices
Everything Diesel Discuss R/C Diesel engines here.

How much ether is enough or too much?

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2017, 07:25 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default How much ether is enough or too much?

Hello All:

I have been using Diesels for a few years now and I need to know how much ether is optimum. I have been using 30% for years but I was told recently that I need at least 33%. I am looking for a mix that will produce an easy start for a sport engine by hand flipping. I may be kidding myself into thinking that I still have what it takes to provide the old Diesel Flick. Lol My mate who also flies Diesels complained that his shoulder was very painful after a day of flicking Diesels! We are both in our late 70's. Lol

How much is too much? I have seen suggestions as high as 50%. What is the downside of too much ether in a fuel? I run 25% oil, castor, in my fuels but I have been told that I am using too much oil for my old steel and cast iron engines as the kerosene will provide a bit of additional lube.

How do those FAI Team Race pitmen get those fast pit stops? I think that the planes are not more than one second in their hands! Yes, I will concede that their engines are perhaps a bit better than my Tigre and MVVS engines. Lol!

Be well,

Franchi
Old 04-23-2017, 06:40 PM

Originally Posted by franchi
Hello All:

I have been using Diesels for a few years now and I need to know how much ether is optimum. I have been using 30% for years but I was told recently that I need at least 33%. I am looking for a mix that will produce an easy start for a sport engine by hand flipping. I may be kidding myself into thinking that I still have what it takes to provide the old Diesel Flick. Lol My mate who also flies Diesels complained that his shoulder was very painful after a day of flicking Diesels! We are both in our late 70's. Lol