Search
Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

Quadra 150

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2012, 09:14 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Quadra 150

I am new to gassers and this web site has been very educational.

I am hoping someone here can help me out with my latest project.
I just bought a great looking BUSA Super Stearman with a Quadra 150 twin.
It looks like a Bennet but I am not sure. I believe it is has never been run.

Looks like CDI with power from a 7.4 volt LiFe battery.
The ignition is up next to the firewall and I have to take the engine and rear cowl off to determine what type is there.

I believe the previous owner(who is deceased) did a good job with the setup but I am doing my homework before flying.

My questions are:

Is 7.4volt too high for the cdi? I have seen that most recommend 4.8volts.
What is the recoomended prop sizes (came with a 30x10)
Does anyone out there have a owne/ operator manual?

Thanks

Kevin
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Bz76759.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	124.7 KB
ID:	1718767   Click image for larger version

Name:	Cx74826.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	111.5 KB
ID:	1718768   Click image for larger version

Name:	Qv54098.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	156.5 KB
ID:	1718769  
Old 01-25-2012, 09:43 AM
My Feedback: (29)

Received 177 Likes on 152 Posts
Default RE: Quadra 150

Most ignitions will fry very quickly at that voltage. personally I would have it converted to a more current ignition setup anyways. What I see is a very old system in there that has no RF protection. Locate RCU user Antique and inquire about a conversion to a better ignition. The 30X10 prop is a good place to start. I would also suggest using tie wraps to secure fuel lines. Tygo has the habit of swelling and a lost fuel line on a draggy bipe dosen't sound like much fun.
Old 01-25-2012, 10:06 AM
My Feedback: (19)

Received 44 Likes on 43 Posts