Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

Magneto vs Ignition

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2004, 11:33 AM
My Feedback: (16)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Magneto vs Ignition

Ok, I'm new to Gas RC engines so please bear with me...

I picked up a Hangar-9 Ultra Stick 1.20 (Original) at a swap meet last weekend and I want to hang a Gas engine on it... Everything I've read points toward using a Zenoah G-26 engine, which is fine... After reading up a bit more on these engines, they use a magneto instead of an ignition system... Got no problem with that, but now I've found a couple companies that will retrofit the G-26 with an ignition system and do away with the magneto system.

What are the pros and cons of using an ignition system vs the stock magneto???

While I'm at it, what do you think of using the G-26 on the original heavy version of the Ultra-Stick???

Thanks for any input...

Mark
Old 10-18-2004, 12:19 PM
My Feedback: (5)

Default RE: Magneto vs Ignition

As you will discover an ignition system adds about $150 to the cost of the engine. Although it will give you a bit more RPM and a little better idle, you will have another battery to charge -and the engine runs just fine on the magneto.
I'd say forget the ignition system until later when you better know your requirements.
I used to watch a fellow fly an ultra stick with a G23 (with the magneto) and it seemed to be a good match. The G26 should be even better
Old 10-18-2004, 12:30 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I like the magneto because it is simpler and always ready to start. It also doesn’t appear that the weight differential justifies the additional components. By the time the battery weight and ignition system is considered the weight saving is usually very small considering the weight of the airframe.

The cosmetics are better without the magneto.