Go Back  RCU Forums > Glow Engines, Gas Engines, Fuel & Mfg Support Forums > Gas Engines
 Newbie to gasser engines, need help. >

Newbie to gasser engines, need help.

Community
Search
Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

Newbie to gasser engines, need help.

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-2004, 06:53 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie to gasser engines, need help.

Hi, I was wondering if anyone could suggest a good engine for the Giant Scale Airplanes Extra 300? Since I am new to gas and have been flying glow engines all along I wanted to know what a good engine for this airplane would be without breaking my bank account? I wanted to keep the engine cost around $400, due to the nature of first time gas experience and don't want to end up trashing a very expensive manuever on some 3D practices. I received this plane relatively cheap (after a bad experience with a GSP Corsair) so I decided to try gas out for a change. Any help would be appreciated. Airplane specs are:

Wingspan 80 inches
Length 67 inches
All built up Balsa Fuse
Recommended engine size 2.7-3.2cu.
Wing Area is 1215 Sq. In.
Flying weight is 13-15 lbs
Wheels: 2x3" & 1x1"
Fuel Tank: 20/24oz.
Spinner: 3¾"
Old 10-22-2004, 07:08 AM
My Feedback: (1)

Default RE: Newbie to gasser engines, need help.

Zenoah 38 ,Quadra or Us engines 35 0r 41cc would do great and not bust the budget.
Old 10-22-2004, 07:42 AM
My Feedback: (6)

If you are going to try 3D with this plane,,, you might look at Brison 3.2.
It's the best bang for the buck.
$450 for engine and if noise isn't an issue there are some cheap mufflers for it.
Old 10-22-2004, 11:00 AM
My Feedback: (36)

If you can keep your plane close to the advertized weight of 13-lb I would go with a Brison 2.4 ($399). If the weight creeps up to the 15-lb mark, which in all honesty it will, go with the Brison 3.2 ($449). Both engines run great and make respectable power for their displacement. Good luck!