Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Giant Scale Aircraft - General
 battery/electrical setup question/s >

battery/electrical setup question/s

Community
Search
Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - General Discuss all other giant scale aircraft here.

battery/electrical setup question/s

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2011, 03:18 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default battery/electrical setup question/s

I recently purchased a used 30% Yak. It was complete minus RX and after looking iside the canopy Im a little confused.Im just getting into gassers with electronic ignitions...so what Im about to describemight be fine, but I just dont know so I thought Id post here to see opinions.There is only 1 battery and its a2400mAh 4.8 4cell JR pack ni-cad (there could have been another battery that was taken out before I bought the plane). There is a single switch,a UBEC and another separateboard device that I can only assume is some type of regulator. It has a 65cc EI engine.I can only assume that since there is only 1 on/off switch and battery pack on the plane...that the RX & servos are sharing the battery with the EI unit. The UBEC and other device is helping dedicate and control voltage to either or.I just recently built a 25% cub and I used 2 separate battery packs and switches so I could dedicate each its own power supply source. This, I thought was the preferred way. Now after seeing a much larger plane with this setup...well, makes me wonder.Ive tried to attach photos...but every time I do, it crashes. Besti can describe the devicethat is unknown, is that it is attached along with the UBEC and the on/off switch to the single battery.

Also, what is the best/preferred way to do a setup on a gas engine as far as flight pack / ignition pack...switches...other hardware...etcThanks for any and all responses.
Old 01-23-2011, 04:45 PM
My Feedback: (5)

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: battery/electrical setup question/s