Search
Notices
Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

??'s For The TT 91FS Experts

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2004, 12:15 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ??'s For The TT 91FS Experts

I just bought a couple of new Thunder Tiger F-91S 4-strokes (1 goes into a new VF 66" Edge and the other is going into a new Dragon Lady). Anyway, I opened the box and found it came with lot's of little goodies (wrenches, extra o-rings, etc.) and something that I have never seen before - A CHOKE VALVE ASSEMBLY.

Now, I am a newbie when it comes to 4 strokes (I have only owned an ASP 61FS and a Mag 52FS) and know nothing about these choke valve assemblies. My first questions is, it is necessary? My second question is, what is it's purpose (I'm betting it's for cold starting)?

My last question pertains to the extra parts. I find a couple of small oval (well elongated might describe it better) pieces of metal and can't figure out what they are or might be used for. They are solid and about 1/8" thick and 1/4" long. Anybody got any idea's what these are and/or what they are used for?

Thanks for any idea's suggestions, etc.,
Old 01-23-2004, 01:49 PM

Default RE: ??'s For The TT 91FS Experts

The choke helps when starting it, nice to choke it and get it a little wet, my TT91 like to start wet. The oval metal parts you found are prop back plate locking(Keys)! they lock the crank shaft to the prop back plate.

I have always run with the choke assembly on so I can't tell you for sure if she will run good without it ,but from what I have read on this site they do not run vary good without the assembly, you will notice the choke assembly has the shape of carburetor velocity stack and I can tell you Velocity Stacks did increase HP on early car engines, it improves air flow by increasing air speed.[8D]
Old 01-23-2004, 02:14 PM