Notices
Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

After-Run Oil?

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2004, 11:15 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default After-Run Oil?

Hi everyone,
I'm new to glow engines and I have a 4 stroke .91 Magnum that my Uncle helped me break in. I've asked several people what I need to do to maintain this engine and gotten several responses. I know that when you get done running your engine you're suppose to unplug the hose to the carb and run the remaining gas out of it, but after that - I'm confused. One opinion was to DEFINETLY run after-run oil because the fuel I use (15% 2stroke) has a chemical in it that contains water(I guess?) and that can lead to rust. Then another source told me to not do anything to the engine until the next time you fly it - unless you're planning on not using it for 3+ months. Which school of thought should I go with?
Old 04-22-2004, 11:51 PM

Default RE: After-Run Oil?

ask the same question to 10 people, you will get at least 12 answers, all of which are 100% correct! anyway, my opinion... run the fuel out of course, and if you are planning on storing it months, pull out the glow plug and dump some afterrun oil in. (auto trans fluid works great)
Old 04-23-2004, 04:36 AM
My Feedback: (5)

Your going to get a lot of different answers to this. I find that if I have a question about a certain aspect of the hobby I look for the guy who seems to have that item down pat. In other words if it's an engine question who has an engine the same as mine that works well all the time, the same with radios, flying manuvers, etc, etc. Then I don't ask anyone else until I decide his way is not for me.