Search
Notices
Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

OS 10 hard to start

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2003, 09:18 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default OS 10 hard to start

I recently bought a used OS 10 from a shop. I don't know much about these engines as I am a beginner in the sport. The problem is, the owner of the shop is not of a great help. First he told me that the engine was new ( the previous owner never finished his project and got discouraged). There is a clicking noise coming from the connecting rod where it connects to the piston axel especially after I disassembled and cleaned the engine <font color=white style="background-color: 3E3E3E;">(is this normal?)</font ft>. The clicking noise is not so noticable after fuel has entered the carb end compression chamber. It ran prety good with the first quart of fuel he sold me.(Top Fuel 10% nitro, specially formulated for use in r/c cars and trucks. On the bottle ,It said not to use with airplane engines). I was also using a glow plug os#3 with the 10% nitro. Last week, I bought some more fuel but this time he sold me (Power master 15% nitro, 18% oil, synthetic/castor) and a medium hot spark plug (os # 8). I thought small engines needed hotter glow plugs? Since that, the engine is very hard to start.(I use a stick or my finger. No starter)It starts on a bench but it needs a lot of force to start. It runs pretty good after it has started. On my aircraft ( miniature hang glider) I am restricted with space on top of the propeller, It makes it harder to turn the propeller. The fuel tank's tube is at the same level as the needle, fuel is entering the carb no problem but there is also a leak around the needle ( only one mixture needle and one iddle needle). I tried a richer or leaner mixture with no success.
What is the problem? or I should say the problems. Please somebody help me!

Claude.
Old 07-13-2003, 02:50 PM
My Feedback: (1)