Search
Notices
Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

Evolution engines

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2005, 02:14 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Evolution engines

I have a Evolution 40 for my trainer. When i'm at about half throttle, I can see air bubbles going into the carb. As I increase the throttle. the air bubbles seem to get less. I thought it could be sucking air through a line but their new. Any suggestions. John
Old 06-19-2005, 02:35 PM
My Feedback: (16)

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default RE: Evolution engines

Its air bubbles created by increased vibration of the engine at part throttle

Enjoy,

Jim
Old 06-19-2005, 03:08 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Thanks for the reply Jim. So the air bubbles arn't a problem? Also, I'm just getting started in flying and I don't have anyone I know of in the area to teach me, but I have Plenty of big farm fields to practice in. I've been across the field in which I thought was going to be a good first flight. Boy was I wrong. On the way back I did what I read most beginners do, you know, left is right,right is left. I brought my plane home in two peices. But I fixed it during the week and its ready to go again. I ordered another trainer that should be here this week. But I think I'll keep rebuilding this one till its unfixable. Would a three blade prop slow the plane down and can I put one on the Evolution 40? thanks again John
Old 06-19-2005, 05:21 PM

The air bubbles can be a problem. They will make the fuel mixture - air ratio have less fuel. You engine may quit or run different.

Try putting foam rubber around the tank to keep vibration down.

A propellar with more diameter and less pitch will slow the plane down. If you are running a 10-6 propellar, try a 11-4 or a 12.25 X 3.75.

The choices of pitch are not very good with three blade props.

Enjoy,

Jim
Old 06-19-2005, 05:36 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts