Notices
Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

OS120 Surpass

Search this Thread

Old 03-25-2006, 01:53 AM
Banned

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default OS120 Surpass

OK you guys, here's one for you. I have an OS 120 Surpass that I made from parts from several different engines. I have it mounted on an old Dragon Lady I've been dragging around for 15 years. This thing is the one engine that is kicking my bu--. It runs great. hauls the plane around with no effort but it has one little bitty problem. The needle has almost no effect. Back it out about three turns, prime , flip the prop and whamo, off it goes. Move lean it or richen, nothing. It will quit if you lean it too far but you can open the needle all the way to the point it falls out and nothing happens. I have used bigger tubing, changed pumps, changed carbs, used no pump, used a perry oscillating pump, nothing. Good compression, actually everything is good but it won't richen up. No intake leaks, new plugs. new fuel, etc.

Anyone got any ideas

Actually solved the airplane problem, I put a YS120NC on it. Fit in the same mount as the OS
Old 03-25-2006, 07:46 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: OS120 Surpass

You may have a (dirt?) restricted needle housing or fuel trajectory from tank to engine that limits the max fuel flow.
Old 03-25-2006, 08:42 AM
My Feedback: (79)

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Loughbd,
I see you fixed the problem.
Old 03-25-2006, 08:57 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I don't see the point, where he resolved it?
I once got a carb back that was "no good" and it was sent back because it could not be adjusted well.
You would not believe the amount of crap I extracted from the fuel jet bar. I must have a picture somewhere, but only will dig it up when someone is interested.
Old 03-25-2006, 09:50 AM
My Feedback: (16)

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

If the idle needle is screwed in too far, the HS will be less effective.
Old 03-25-2006, 09:59 AM
My Feedback: (79)

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts