Notices
Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

Tiger Trainer 40 Engine

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2008, 11:23 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tiger Trainer 40 Engine

Dear Aeromodellers,
My Tiger Trainer 40 GP is over heating after the head was remachined to remove warpage. I agree this must have resulted in increasing compression ratio. But i have added extra gaskets of thickness which is eqivalent to the material relieved.
Now the engine is overheating to the extent of almost seizing. I am lucky in the sence I decided to run it on ground . And when it starts petering down R.P.M. I could stop it and avoid seizing.
Any suggestions or advise will be highly appreciated.
Thanks,
Abhay saraff
Old 08-20-2008, 12:25 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Tiger Trainer 40 Engine

I’m no expert, but here what I do:
My motor would seize when on the ground I adjusted the needle valve to max rpm and then fly it and it would over heat in the air and dead stick…
What I did to avoid this – when you reach this max rpm point take the needle valve 2-5 clicks back so it will rum a little bit more rich.

Alex

Old 08-20-2008, 10:26 PM

sir,
Did the adjustments, Even went ahead with slow needle adjustments the problem is still persisting.
A fellow modeller has suggested reopening of engine and measuring the head and find out if there is problem with the gaskets addition. Will do this day after tommorrow and post results. thanks for suggestions.
Abhay saraff
Old 08-21-2008, 09:31 AM

Are you having a lubrication problem from your fuel? That is a bushing engine and needs at least 20% oil in your fuel mix. The GP 40 has not been produced in many years, could the engine be worn out? The GP40 was made before Thunder Tiger modernized their factory many years ago.
Old 08-21-2008, 10:48 AM
My Feedback: (2)