Search
Notices
Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

Traxxas 3.3 question..help please

Search this Thread

Old 10-31-2008, 09:27 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Traxxas 3.3 question..help please

Hi I am brand new to nitro-as in never ever fired one up- and just took delivery of a used Revo 3.3. I wanted to inspect everything to make sure all is OK and I decided to look at the engine. I took off the glow plug and cooling head and the piston head has a deep golden brown coloration on it. is this OK? Looks like a carbon build up but i have no idea about these glow engines. Here is a picture of what I am talking about:

Old 10-31-2008, 09:44 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Traxxas 3.3 question..help please

That's fine so don't worry about it. Put it back together but snug up the head bolts a little at a time by nipping one, skip one, nip the next, skip one and so on. Each time you get back to the first screw nip it a little tighter so the head gets clamped down as evenly as possible.
Old 10-31-2008, 10:05 AM

That condition is absolutely normal - dont try to clean it. Look out for the head gasket - make sure it seats properly when clamping down the head as downunder said. Never overtighten the head screws or the glow plug - use common sense when tightning them.
Old 10-31-2008, 11:08 AM

Starting here: [link=http://www.traxxas.com/support/kb_search.php?action=artikel&cat=165&id=518]Traxxis support[/link]
got me to here: [link=http://www.traxxas.com/PDF-Library/TRX33_explode.pdf]Traxxis 3.3 racing engine[/link]

The exploded diagram appears to have torque settings on it - but what is "3x12CS" ??
My objective: to get an estimate of force (say, ounces) to be exerted over a distance (say the length of your hex wrench).

Edit: I was wrong! As you will read below, these were screw thread specs and the CS referred to "cap screw". Sorry for the mis-information[sm=bananahead.gif]
Old 10-31-2008, 11:14 AM