Community
Search
Notices
RC Drifting Discuss all aspects of rc drifting here!

Noob with TA05 v2

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2011, 12:19 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Noob with TA05 v2

Hi Everyone! My names Steve and as i said im a noob. Well i got myself a cool christmas present for myself this year a Ta05 v2 (cusco rex) and a tamiya sport tuned motoras well as an AE86 Levinbody ...sweeeet!(not using yet) 3 daysof tinkering i finnishedthe car!

So i watched every videoon you tube and i've been practicing in my street endfor a few weeks now and its awesome fun, last time a had an rc car(grasshopper) the batterys lasted about 5 mins! these things go for 30 beforethere empty!
I have a set of drift slicks im not sure of the brand they were but there as hard as a rock and it slides really well, actually i have nothing to compare it to so it could be crap but i can loop around myself pretty well in both directions.I have ordered some ABS tires off ebay but am waiting for them to arrive.
Any ideas as to what would be the best things to firstupgrade?

One thing that i have seen you talk of is SC ratio's or counter steer ratio, I thoughtcounter steer is turning the steering wheels in the opposite direction to the cars tail, call it drifting oversteering going sideways whateva its what ya do to stop the car from spining out.Why is it when the rear wheels spin faster than the front its called counter steer??
Again Noob here Thanks again in advance.

Old 01-05-2011, 04:04 AM

Default RE: Noob with TA05 v2

You are right about counter steer - that's exactly what you do with the RC, just like the real deal you counter so you keep the front wheels pointed in your intended line of travel while the car is sliding at an angle, how steep the angle is up to your skills and the mechanics of the chassis.