Community
Search
Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

[First Build] Electronics Review for 1/10th Rally Car

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-2022, 06:19 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default [First Build] Electronics Review for 1/10th Rally Car

Hello RCU,

I'm in the midst of my first RC build and was hoping to get more experienced eyes on my initial electronics selection before I pull the trigger. There are so many options and I've never done this before, so have been researching as best I can-- but may easily be overlooking or misunderstanding something.

The base chassis/ platform I have is the HPI RS4 Sprint 3 (edit: creator edition), which is normally on-road, but is being modified into a mixed-surface rally car akin to the more popular Tamiya TT-02 and XV-01/2 builds I see a lot of. The use case is general hobbyist bashing on dirt and gravel. There are actually a couple of 1/10th dirt tracks in my area but a) they have more jumps than this build is designed for and b) this build would never qualify for the types of competitive racing they do. I may take it to those sites occasionally for some Sunday Funday practice at slow speeds...but that's really as adventurous as I see myself getting with this.

I have a number of suspension, drivetrain, and weather modifications going in for the on-road to off-road conversion, and generally feel good about those. But the core components below is where I could really use your input:

Motor: Castle 1410 3800kv sensored brushless
  • It seems the general on-road motor for this chassis would be something more like the Castle 1406 4600kv. Since I am running mixed-surface 4WD however, I opted for the higher torque// lower RMP motor, which evidently runs cooler and seems better suited for my use case. I am not interested in top speed/ speed-running.