Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
 First jet for a good pilot? >

First jet for a good pilot?

Community
Search
Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

First jet for a good pilot?

Search this Thread

Old 12-10-2011, 06:26 PM
My Feedback: (25)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First jet for a good pilot?

Little help guys.
I want to get into turbines. I've been flying (mostly scale) for about 28 years. I (as well as others) consider myself a very good pilot. I emphesize"A VERY GOOD PILOT". I have flown everything from high wing loaded warbirds and "old school" aerobatics, to IMAC and 3D, to ducted fan(Byron F16).
I tell you this so you understand... I can fly. I also know about "lag" in spool up time in the turbine. Not "thumbs on", but I know there is a dif. in turbines and gas motors.
Having said the above. Can you please recomend a good first jet for a well seasoned pilot that flies off of grass? I would prefer something like an F15 or F18 but also know not to be stupid with this if you guys say so. Thanks in advance for your thoughts.

-Mustang51
Old 12-10-2011, 06:31 PM

Received 24 Likes on 21 Posts
Default RE: First jet for a good pilot?

I voted the F-15 for first jet,
Old 12-10-2011, 07:47 PM

Mustang,

For a long, enjoyable time in turbines, I would stay away from the heavy metal, and enjoy a more enjoyable design. If you want the "scale" look, but want sport jet reliability and stability, you can never go wrong with the Comp-Arf Flash. Pound for pound, dollar for dollar, the absolute strongest, best performing jet airframe made. There are a lot of good airframes, but if you are a "very good pilot" you can skip over the ever stable and ever trustworthy Boomerang airframes (enjoyable but boring after a while). BVM Bandit/Ultra Bandit is always a top choice for top dollar.