Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Sailboats
 Yacht Racing >

Yacht Racing

Community
Search
Notices
RC Sailboats For all your r/c sailing needs, post here.

Yacht Racing

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2010, 01:49 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Yacht Racing

Hi!
I'm new to rc Yachts, but a seasoned gas boat racer.
I'm looking into purchasing/building a yacht to race. I have no idea of where to start!
Had a look at the Thunder Tiger ETNZ. Any advice?
Old 05-13-2010, 02:10 PM

Default RE: Yacht Racing

Hi:
First check what are using the guys near to you at the pond. It doesn´t make sense to get a deep V to find later that everybody else has hidroplanes.
Also check many threads to get a idea about the class that most fit to you and your requirements.

Good luck

Tato Lazo
Old 05-13-2010, 04:06 PM

Received 32 Likes on 32 Posts

There have been several threads on other boards about turning the ETNZ into a respectable performer. I think there were about 14 things that needed fixing.  <div>It is a good idea to find out what is being raced where you would like to sail.  If everybody else is sailing a Laser, there is little point in turning up with an IOM or a Marblehead, and vice versa.  Agoogle for "Radio control yacht classes" should turn up some links with useful information.</div>
Old 05-16-2010, 04:34 AM

Thanks for the info.<div>I have a a small dam close to home, it is in a residential area. SO when I run my gas 26cc boats on it I am not very popular!</div><div>A couple of my friends and I are looking into starting a RC Yacht club on the dam. The residents like the idea as well!</div><div>I was thinking of starting a 1m class(like the ETNZ) </div><div>RC Yachts are not very popular in South Africa, yet!</div><div>So I'm educating myself before making any purchases!</div><div>I will look into the Laser hull,the name has come up in a number of searches.</div><div>I need something with a good pace on the water!</div><div>
</div>
Old 05-16-2010, 06:38 AM