Community
Search
Notices
RC Tanks Discuss all aspects of rc tank building and driving here!

New to the hobby

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2009, 05:37 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to the hobby

Hi guys,

I'm new to the hobby (and the forum ) and would like to know what's a good tank for me to get started with. I have about $400 to spend.

Thanks in advance.
Old 03-17-2009, 05:57 PM

Default RE: New to the hobby

Keep your eye on E-Bay and look for a Sherman if your wanting to go Tamiya. If not get 3 Henlong's for the same money a Tiger1, Panzer 3 and a Pershing. If you go Tamiya keep in mind you will need a radio The HL's come with radios. If you go HL make sure you buy the one's with metal gears, and buy a good charger and get good batterys.

Greg
Old 03-17-2009, 05:58 PM
YHR

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

THe Stug III is a great tank, wiht lots of upgrade parts available. If you buy the metal upgrade suspension, wheels, tracks, you will spend nearly all of your $400.!!!!!!
Old 03-17-2009, 06:04 PM

Received 39 Likes on 31 Posts

The Heng Long Panzer III is a good place to start, its pretty robust and has a lot of upgrade parts available. The Heng Long M41 is also a good starter tank. I've not yet sampled the Stug III or JagdPanther so I can't speak on how good they are, but the trend would suggest that they are also good starter tanks.
Beware of the Heng Long Tiger and "Panther" - there are still some older examples out there that give a bad name to the brand. Similarly, I'd have to warn you off the Matorro Tiger and SturmTiger - they suffer the same flaws as the early Heng Long tanks: plastic swing arms that crack, mounting points that crack, etc... If you want one they can be made into good models, but be prepared to invest to "make them right".