Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD
 Is a Lockheed P-38 lighting good 1st scratcher? >

Is a Lockheed P-38 lighting good 1st scratcher?

Community
Search
Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

Is a Lockheed P-38 lighting good 1st scratcher?

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2004, 10:25 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is a Lockheed P-38 lighting good 1st scratcher?

I'm pretty new to the airplane scene and have always wanted to get into the scratch building segment of the field. I have found a set of plans for a Lockheed P-38 Lighting, which I would really like to build, and its got a 108" wing span and calls for twin Ryobi 31CC Engines. It seems to be a little overpowered, but like I said I.m new to the field. Looking for some advice on the subject.
Old 04-30-2004, 10:37 AM
My Feedback: (90)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Is a Lockheed P-38 lighting good 1st scratcher?

The P-38 is one of the most complex models to build, and takes skill to fly. Due to the design of 2 booms and a center pod, the systems become very complicated. The engines being spaced a large distance from the center line make flying it in an engine out situation "tense" at the very least.
Not a good first scratch-build, not a good first build, & not a good first twin. I speak from experience, and I am sure those in the "know", will tell you the sme thing.
Check out the "Twins and Multi-Engine" forum for a lot of info.
Old 04-30-2004, 11:27 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

ORIGINAL: mark_chininia