Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Gas Boats
 Newbie - Anatomy of a drive shaft >

Newbie - Anatomy of a drive shaft

Community
Search
Notices
Speed - RC Gas Boats Discuss gas RC boats right here!

Newbie - Anatomy of a drive shaft

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-2005, 04:55 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie - Anatomy of a drive shaft

I am fairly new to RC Boating. I have a Sailboat which I made from a kit, and I have recently undertaken building my first boat from scratch. I got a set of plans from another member of this forum and I am proceeding well ( I think ). I have obtained an 18cc weed eater featherlite motor, and am in the process of getting ready to fit it into the hull.

But I am having a hard time trying to get my head around what I need for the drive line.

I am going to use the spring steel shaft from the weed eater but I am not quite sure how to or what to mount it in for the stuffing tube.
I planned on using some of the nylon or teflon liner which was in the shaft of the weed eater but what tube should be used to go through the transom, and how far past the transom should it go.

How do I keep the end of the shaft in the weed eater, as it just rests in the end of the drive from the motor.

I know there are alot of questions asked but any idea what prop should be used with this motor.

Thanks for any advice or comments,

Greg
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Vt57266.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	64.1 KB
ID:	312026   Click image for larger version

Name:	Tq48582.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	104.7 KB
ID:	312027  
Old 08-19-2005, 07:38 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Newbie - Anatomy of a drive shaft