Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Gas Boats
 Newbie needs alot of help!! >

Newbie needs alot of help!!

Community
Search
Notices
Speed - RC Gas Boats Discuss gas RC boats right here!

Newbie needs alot of help!!

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2008, 09:06 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Newbie needs alot of help!!

Hey guys, I'm a newbie in the world of building boats and I need some help. I would greatly appreciate any tips given. I need help with the basics I guess you can say. My main objective is that I would like to build a boat big enough to run in a salt water harbor. The water gets choppy sometimes so I need something that can stand up to that. Also I would like a decently fast boat, who doesn't love speed . Would anyone have any reccomendations about the ideal size. Basically I would like advice on the following:
~size
~something that would be usable in salt water, and choppy water.
~range.

Any comments would be great thanks
The following users liked this post:
AMXer (12-19-2021)
Old 07-12-2008, 09:10 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Newbie needs alot of help!!

normally deep vee's are the most stable. i have a supervee 27 and it is not that stable, so try to go for maybe a 32-35 inch.
Old 07-12-2008, 09:55 PM

How much can you spend?
Old 07-12-2008, 10:05 PM

Have you gone potatoes, potatoes? This is the "GAS" boat forum. And your advice on 32"-35"...well that's a little small. Most of the gas boats you read about are atleast 45" long. No matter what style boat you go with, running in salt water requires some additional upkeep. If you're running in an area that has unpredictable water conditions, a vee hull may be a better fit. I've seen both Vee and Cat styles tackle some decent size chop. However, I myself am a fan of the cats. It really comes down to what style do you wanna rock in the harbor. I would however steer you away from a rigger or hydroplane, as these are suited for calm waters, and right turns only. Happy hunting!