Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > Electric RC Helis > T-Rex heli
 Some one please tell me why. >

Some one please tell me why.

Community
Search
Notices
T-Rex heli For all you T-Rex lovers out there, this where you can post!

Some one please tell me why.

Search this Thread

Old 01-14-2007, 04:36 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Some one please tell me why.

Well if you’re reading this and you’re a newb (and I'm still somewhat new to planes and helis myself) you’re probably going to get mad but oh well. Why do people go out and buy a new heli like a TRex before learning how to fly one on a sim or with an instructor. Just a quick example, a guy I know bought a new heli his second was a MX400 and didn't even know what a swash plate was, and this was after learning how to hover. His third heli was a Raptor50 and could hover pretty good by this time, and do some FF, well I was at the field waiting my turn to fly while he was in the air when his engine quit well it came down like a brick, he was lucky he was only 25ft off the ground. When I asked him why didn't you auto it down (I know it was to close but the damage would have been less) he asked what’s an auto, I said autorotation, he said what’s that.

So my advice is simple GO BUY A SIM, RF G3.5 is a wonderful training tool not a game.

Going back to my example that guy has rebuilt his Raptor 50 3 time from crashes so that’s a total of 4 helis minus the parts that survived, according to him well over $900 after the initial investment.

Before you ask, No I'm not perfect I buried a Nexstar into the ground, Don't ask its embarrassing, and while practicing autos myself I was in a dead spot and did not have enough rotor speed and not high enough 70$ Carbon blades, 15$ new boom, 17$ new belt, and carbon tail control rod.

So as I wrote, buy a sim or find an instructor RF G3.5 $200 compared to my $260 mistakes or $900 mistakes.
Old 01-14-2007, 06:06 PM
My Feedback: (11)

Received 369 Likes on 297 Posts